2016 Sir Julius Vogel Awards announced

The 2016 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been presented.

The Awards recognise achievements by New Zealanders, both amateur and professional, in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres.

This year voting took place at Au Contraire 2016, the 37th National Science Fiction convention held in Wellington over Queen’s Birthday Weekend, Voting was open to members of SFFANZ (the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand) and the convention.

The numberof votes cast this year was the highest recorded in the awards’ 15-year history, and saw a number of youth members of the convention taking an active interest in New Zealand genre literature.

SFFANZ president Norman Cates said “We were delighted with the level of participation and interest in the awards from an impressively wide variety of people. We strive to keep improving the significance of the awards. Going into the future, we hope to continue building the awards with the help of SFFANZ members and future conventions.”

A full list of winners is appended.

Professional Awards Category Winners

Best Novel Ardus by Jean Gilbert, Rogue House Publishing
Best Youth Novel Dragons Realm by Eileen Mueller (Fairytale Factoy)
Best Novella The Ghost of Matter by Octavia Cade, published in Shortcuts: Track 1 (Paper Road Press)
Best Short Story “The Thief’s Tale” by Lee Murray
Best Collected Work Write Off Line 2015: The Earth We Knew, Jean Gilbert/Chad Dick (eds)
Best Professional Artwork Cover for Shortcuts: Track 1, by Casey Bailey
Best Professional Production/Publication White Cloud Worlds Anthology 3, Paul Tobin (ed), published by Weta Worksho
Best New Talent Jean Gilbert


Fan Award Category Winners

Best Fan Production/publication Phoenixine, by John and Lynelle Howell
Best Fan Artwork Keith Smith – for contributions to Novazine
Best Fan Writing John Toon

Special Award Category Winners

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror      Marie Hodgkinson

Servies to Fandom                                                         Glenn Young

Comments are closed.